Nina Simone and Sly Stone to be honored with Lifetime Achievement Awards at the 2017 Grammys.


After rolling out nominations for its 2017 show earlier this month, The Recording Academy announced the recipients of its Lifetime Achievement Award today. Among the honorees this year are Sly Stone, Nina Simone, The Velvet Underground, jazz great Ahmad Jamal, and gospel legend Shirley Caesar. Philly soul architect Thom Bell also received a Trustees Award.

Speaking on the 2017 class, Academy president Neil Portnow described a “prestigious group of diverse and influential creators who have crafted or contributed to some of the most distinctive recordings in music history.”

%d bloggers like this: